Newfangled Wallpaper

Robin James
3 min readOct 2, 2024

I’ve been out of the loop on this

My bathroom cabinets covered in peel and stick wallpaper

I had no idea wallpaper had changed over the years. To be fair, I can’t remember when I last saw it in a store. Paint, sure, it’s everywhere. But wallpaper? It’s not in any stores I frequent. The last time I gave it any thought I figured wallpaper went out of style and just wasn’t sold anymore.

Way back, when I was young, my mom painted or wallpapered the walls about every two years. The kitchen seemed to be her favourite place to paper. One iteration included bright green walls with sunflower wallpaper on one wall. The sunflowers were grouped in twos so they looked a bit like eyes if you squinted the right way.

Back then, dry peel wallpaper was new. Or at least, new for my mom. She raved about this stuff, how easy it was to remove compared to the old stuff. No steamer was needed, all she had to do was pick at a corner and pull.

The application was easier too, she’d said. Originally she’d had to use glue on the back of the sheet, then stick it up on the wall. The newer stuff just needed to be wetted, then pressed onto the wall.

Now there’s a variety of wallpaper that’s a sticker. Just peel the back off and stick it wherever you like.

I decided to try it out in a small room, but not on the walls. Instead I covered two cabinets with it.

--

--

Robin James

When I’m not writing my novel I’m writing rants and whatnot. Figured I might as well post them here.